Pub of the Year

Every year, each CAMRA branch holds a Pub of the Year (POTY) competition. Pubs are shortlisted based on their average beer scores throughout the year, and then these are judged using criteria defined by CAMRA. The judging criteria we use can be seen here.

We have three different categories: Shrewsbury Pub of the Year, Market Town Pub of the Year, and Rural Pub of the Year. The winners of these categories will then go into the final round, and the overall scores based on the judging criteria will determine an overall winner of our Branch Pub of the Year.

Every branch’s Pub of the Year will then be put forward for the Regional Pub of the Year, and winners of that will go through to the final judging for CAMRA’s National Pub of the Year.

We also have a Club of the Year (COTY) and Cider Pub of the Year (CPOTY) judged by the same criteria as above. All our current branch winners can be seen below.

Shrewsbury Pub of the Year


Previous Winners

To see the previous winners of the Shrewsbury and West Shropshire CAMRA Pub of the Year awards, please click the button below: